Today’s quickie thought.

I’m just jotting down a few stray thoughts here, don’t mind me. Gotta keep this critter going, y’know.

It can be a bit of a job keeping something like this going, my imagination isn’t as wonderful as one would hope and of course there’s my schedule or lack thereof. Driving “on call” for an expedited freight service means I could be gone for some little time so a regular schedule here isn’t going to happen. At the moment I have two machines available, but in May of next year at the latest it becomes chancy at best to bring the old machine online.

Of course, my job also gives me fuel for this blog and I am considering that. I have a camera– two cameras, actually, one is a regular digital camera and the other is the ubiquitous cell-phone camera, so between those two I have capabilities to post some photos here. Some photos I already have, I just have to dig them up and post them. Some photos are still out in the field, I have to take them first. I’m inclined within a few days to let y’all see how I live when on the road (it’s primitive, trust me on this– but then, sleeping in a cargo van can hardly be other than primitive). I have a relining seat that I rely on heavily, when I have the space I have a cot and an air mattress (the cot keeps the air mattress off of the floor, this helps keep one warm believe it or not) and I have the Big Buddy heater which, with a small fan, has proven itself many a night.

At that, my end of the business isn’t as primitive as it might be. I’m on what we in the trade call “turn and burn”. I make the pickup, usually near home here in the Western ‘Burbs, then take it to the delivery. Once delivered, I turn around and come back home to await the next run. I don’t make as much money as some in the business, but on the flip side I only have one or two nights on the road. I know guys who haven’t been home in a couple of months, so imagine living in a Chevy full-size van for a couple of months at a time and you have their lifestyle. Actually, it’s not bad if you don’t weaken and to be truthful I’ve been giving it some thought. In that case, this new laptop that I’m typing on now will become my “road unit” and I will be able to keep up with this nearly every day even on the road.

Next time—.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Today’s quickie thought.

  1. Not much to see here, this is just a quickie test so I can see what it’ll look like if others reply to my posts. Also I get a handle on what it will be like if/when I comment on other people’s blogs here.

  2. Michael says:

    This is a quickie reply to quickie notes from out of nowhere, to see if you have to be logged in to reply or if “outsiders” can do it. So, since this place gets about as much traffic as Mars and the only replies are mine, it’s safe to say this is the most private public place that can be found.

Leave a Reply

