Fork in the road time.

Yes, reader (I suspect there’s never more than one or two at the most, this blog isn’t a hot property yet) it’s getting close to time for me to make some decisions. A fork in the road approaches, caused by the imminent demise of  MyOpera on March 1st.

I had a blog there some photos, maybe a couple of odds and ends and of course I frequented the Debates and Discussion forum there. Replacing MyOpera and trying to keep the community we had there going presents formidable problems and at this writing I’m not sure how things will turn out. 2liv3.com is the place for some of my photos, anyway, WordPress seems to be the best bet for my blog and DnDsanctuary.eu looks like the place, at least for the moment, where the fellows I hang out with on D&D are gathering. Many people have jumped to Vivaldi.net, but truth to tell I have a suspicion it doesn’t have “legs” to go any distance.

I’ve been a “forum junkie” half past forever, but right at the moment I’d have to confess to being less than happy with the way things are shaping up at the Vivaldi or DnDsanctuary forums. I think DnD has the better chance at making it, but time will tell on that one.

That leaves this blog. I admit that when I started this here I really had only the sketchiest idea of what I wanted to do with it, and in all probability it was going to become one of those sites where you can’t even get your best friend to read the thing because nothing ever happens here. Maybe I can change that– since starting here I’ve been looking at what others are doing and of course I dream of the day when this blog produces actual revenue– not enough maybe to replace my job, but enough to be worth it anyway. In any case, I’m not at all sure I would want to replace my job since it’s a good one except that it could pay better. But, expedited freight in a van– working life doesn’t get better than that so I’m in no hurry to replace my job.

 

There’s a few of you folk I’m following, and maybe what you’re doing will rub off on me.  I’ll give this some time and effort, let’s see where this goes.

Standard

Leave a Reply

