The Perfect Amount of Death

I don’t usually re-blog other folk’s work, but this young fellow (Matt, to me you’re a young fellow) has posted a worthwhile effort here and it’s not a bad idea to give it a bit more exposure. Think about it. The clock is ticking, and nobody is guaranteed another sunrise. Make it count for something while you have the chance.

Must Be This Tall To Ride

Comic by Tyson Cole. Comic by Tyson Cole.

Austin Kleon starts every day by reading obituaries.

Not to be morbid.

Not to obsess about death.

Not to channel sadness.

But to celebrate life. To focus on the present. To live every moment.

Kleon is the author of Show Your Work!, which I loved, and Steal Like an Artist which will be the next book I read when it arrives today or tomorrow.

I’ve been thinking about the need to be aware of our mortality for a long time. I’ve written on the topic several times.

But Kleon really got me thinking about this.

We don’t have to be excessively morbid or sad or whatever about death. I’m not trying to be edgy or dark. I’m just stating a fact disguised as an opinion: We’re all going to die. We’re dead. A death sentence. All of us. Everyone we know and love and everyone we…

View original post 581 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

