What Christians Fear Most

I can’t add much to this. Andrew hit the nail square.

adoptingjames

monsters

Sometimes I feel like a monster.

Not when I lose my temper. When that happens, I’m just being a typical fallen human – my old fleshly self.

But sometimes I feel like a monster from Monstropolis. You know, the ones from Monsters Inc. who are afraid of children.

Sounds silly, doesn’t it?

But we’re not much brighter. We fear man.

We clamor for man’s approval and stop at nothing to gain the respect of the masses.

And if we’re honest with ourselves, on our worst days, we’d rather be judged by God than by our bosses.

This is the wrong way of living. Jesus is very clear in Matthew 10:28: “Do not fear those who kill the body but are unable to kill the soul; but rather fear Him who is able to destroy both body and soul in hell.”

We’re so anxious to please others and remain certain not…

View original post 216 more words

Standard

3 thoughts on “What Christians Fear Most

  1. I have to admit something here. I have not been doing so good on the subject of the above post. As some people know, I am in the habit of buying Christian books at truck-stops on my travels. Many of these books are really great and give tons of useful information– which I then proceed to do nothing with.

    I have books on prayer, and praise, and somewhere I’ve got a number of bibles, and I don’t build on the foundation that has been laid by many fine authors. That needs to change of course, or else when I stand before the Creator of Heaven and Earth I will have to admit to Him that I wasted perfectly good information by doing nothing. I have a sneaking suspicion that’s not the best thing for me to have to admit, so maybe it’s way past time I start doing something with it.

    • Cheer up? Maybe. Problem is, this subject is perhaps one of the most serious subjects on a Christian’s table. We’re “God’s voice” to this generation, and if we who are called by His name don’t do what He called us to do, then we haven’t got much of a show on the Day of Judgement. That’s pretty serious stuff.

      OK, here it is: One day in the not too distant future, we will each give an account for what we did with what God gave us. Those who used the talents God gave them wisely will enter into the happiness of God’s favor, those who wasted the talents God gives them– well, you probably don’t want to think about that. But, it’s written in the Bible anytime you take a notion to look it up.

Leave a Reply

