An open letter to the Daily Mail…

I’ve had to take charity, believe me when I say it’s not fun or your first choice. Your back is to the wall at that moment. Today I’m holding together, but in today’s economy it wouldn’t take much to upset the applecart again. A couple of reverses and there you are— hoping somebody will see and help you.

squidgetsmum

The Daily Mail chose today to celebrate the resurrection of Jesus, champion of the oppressed, by publishing this article today.  Here’s my response.

 

Dear Daily Mail,

I’ve got a little boy.  His name is Isaac, and he’s nearly three.  Like any little boy, he loves cars, balls, and running around.  He’s barely ever still.

A few days ago though, he was.  I took him to the supermarket to spend his pocket money, and we passed the donation basket for our local food bank.  It was about half full – nothing spectacular, in fact, mostly prunes and pasta – and he asked what it was.  As simply as possible, I tried to explain that it was for people to give food for other people who couldn’t afford it.

This affected his two year old brain fairly deeply.  After a lot of thought, he decided to spend a little bit of…

View original post 715 more words

Standard

12 thoughts on “An open letter to the Daily Mail…

  1. Some physiological comment a propos: if he’s “nearly three”, his brain must be not “two years old”, but three at least. 🙂
    I’ve read the _Mail_ article: interesting!..
    [PSST]By the way, how to make some text get italics or..?[/PSST]

    • I don’t know if you can make text italic or bold in a comment. I can do it in the opening post, but then they give us tools for that just like in a forum. The comments look to be pretty basic. I comment on other blogs here and I don’t know that I’ve seen anything beyond basic text in any comment. Just getting smileys to work seems to be huge here.

    • Shouldn’t this work?

      Btw, something’s wrong with the link. You doubled the http, I think.

      Can you really imagine how much courage it takes to use a food bank? I actually can’t imagine how much, having not had to use one. It’s a courage I hope and pray I never have to find.

      Quoted for truth.

      • I’ve never been to a food bank, but I have accepted help from friends at my local church. It was pretty tight for a bit in 2011, I had lost one vehicle (final mechanical breakdown) and didn’t have money to replace it because times were tight. For a bit things were touch and go but help from friends– including help getting the vehicle I now have- made quite a difference. We had a sort-of-food bank at the church too, and I did get some food from that source.

        I am not able to find which link has the problem, they all seem to work here and no sign of a double-http.

      • About that Daily Mail link: I have no control over that since I didn’t do that to begin with. You’re reading a repost from someone else’s blog.
        But, apart from that, I suspect that since it was a link from a newspaper that the link is simply “old” and has outlived its usefulness as far as the Daily Mail is concerned. I don’t know what the “shelf life” of a newspaper link is, depends on the paper I guess. If I were to put up a link from the Chicago Tribune, I wouldn’t expect the link to still be good much past a week from the paper’s publication date.

      • It worked once I removed the double http though. I know that newspapers aren’t great about letting links live, but just a week? I sure hope not. 🙂

      • OK. I can do nothing, so far as I know, in the post above. It’s a reblog and I can’t edit the other person’s blog even here in my blog. BUT– I find that if you click on the “View original” link, that takes you to the original blog and the newspaper link there does, in fact, work. Why it doesn’t work when I reblog from another site is anybody’s guess, but now that I know about it I’ll have to keep it in mind in the future. A rather interesting bug, maybe worth reporting to WordPress and see what they have to say.

      • Reply to Josh, about the italics: Franz uses special formatting. It’s basic HTML but he used different wording than I’m familiar with.
        But, it’s not that hard with basic HTML coding.

Leave a Reply

