Generating a problem

Today I get to generate some trouble. Kind of fun, actually.

Since one of my regulars seems to have a problem with the camera I’ve been using, I thought I’d post three copies of the same photo I took a few years back. I was on the Pennsylvania Turnpike, about to go through a mountain. That’s right, I said “through”. Not around, or over, but through. This photo was initially taken on a clear-sky day, sun shining and if anything maybe the weather was a bit warmer than I generally like. Here’s the photos, have fun and don’t fight:

Phil05

 

Phil052

 

Phil051

All of these are the same photo, taken by me on my Fuji. The original doesn’t look like any of these.

Standard

8 thoughts on “Generating a problem

  1. So what’s the original?
    I consider what? Not exactly saturation, but the colours.
    See I have a camera on that camera-phone – which does great. Another phone has a built-in camera which may be good for portraits but is bad at “rendering” nature – exactly natural colours of natural sky or alike. Especially sky (maybe it has a problem with blue or I don’t know). Then I have yet another on-phone camera, which one has a very poor matrix – BUT. It renders colours quite well: at least they’re bright and prominent, however they may be not exactly as they seen by an eye.
    Anyway, if you like, I could attach some examples to an email, what do you think?

  2. Forgot to mention that worse camera doesn’t do well with sharpness either – i.e. you can’t digital-zoom it to see the detail, because the picture’s broke into rather large pixels (by contemporary or whatever standards). Same effect I saw on some of your pics on the old site (you drove somewhere and shot a couple where there were some slope, some tarmac and some sky). (Yup, the sizes of pics made with the good and this mentioned camera are generally about the same – same order, while with the former’s shots I can digi-zoom fairly ‘indefinitely’ without any “pixels” actually.)

    Reply to bold: There’s the problem. It’s difficult at best to shoot a photo while moving. Early digital cameras– the Fuji I’m using came out shortly after the digital camera became popular– had trouble if the subject wasn’t rock-solid still. My movie camera is almost impossible to use for this reason, especially when you try to use the zoom. The fact that any moving item can be seen at all when using a still-picture camera is probably an accomplishment. mjm

    • Now it appears you can edit others’ comments?
      A “still-picture camera”? There are others?
      Test: -test-, +test+, =test=, _test_, *test*.
      I’ve shot recently some new “foliage upon the sky” pictures. You may be right about moving objects: when I zoom in those images, the leaves get cranky; maybe if one used a larger objective – so that the camera needed less time to catch the same amount of light – such moving objects would appear sharper – right?
      So it’s rather probable that I might need a larger camera for that purpose…

      • Yeah, as the “owner” of this blog I do have certain editing powers. Something to be held in reserve, only to be used in certain circumstances.

        About the camera focus: I doubt that a larger objective will help much. Pixelation is a problem that all digital cameras will have, if you try to photograph a moving object the sensor goes nuts and pixelates to varying degrees as a result.

    • As long as you’re using a digital camera, you run into a problem as long as you’re trying to shoot moving images with a still-picture camera. The sensor can’t make the image “make sense” fast enough, so you get pixelation.

  3. Josh says:

    In Chrome, you have an asterisk superscript after your username – in Opera you have a naught! 😀
    I came to underscore that no matter “pixels”, the time taken just must have something to do with that thing: think yourself – the less time the less movement it is! :lamp:

Leave a Reply

